Tunnel

What is this feeling?
Which surprises me so
I don’t feel the same
And I’m different from before

Taking it slow
Is all I ever did
I’ve seen the other side
And I’m never going back

I took the plunge
I wrestled with the bears
I stood upon the peak
I howled with the wolves

Who am I?
I’m not the same
And never will be
Cause I’ve seen the other side

I’ve seen the mystic cosmos
I’ve driven away the demons
I’ve ignited the light
I’ve met myself

I’m always changing
Running along the boundaries of my consciousness
I realise I’ll never reach the other side
And I’m fine with that

This breath I inhale
Changes me beyond recognition
In ways nobody will understand
And I’m fine with that

It’s funny
How life tends to slow down
And speed up
At it’s whims

It’s funny
How I have nothing to complain about
Yet sadness stalks
Just around the corner

The afterlife, as I imagine
Is similar to this tunnel
On a highway
That I’m entering

Initially
It amazes me
It makes me wonder
It makes me feel in awe

But, I feel
Like I’ve been here before
I’ve passed through here
Numerous times

Though it comforts me
And silences me
I know I cannot stay
For I do not belong here….yet

Rushing towards the other end
Heading out
I enter the highway again
I enter another path

I await my final tunnel, though
A tunnel which never ends

And I shall fly

image

3 comments on “Tunnel

  1. I love your poems so I nominated you for a Bloggers award…Follow up the rules here.. https://ruchirabiswas.wordpress.com/2016/01/28/the-blogging-award/

Leave a Reply

