Time Eater

​Twisting and turning

In my sleep

While the ghost of my memories

Hold me down and don’t let go of me

 

They sing ballads of the past

And the future

And

         Judge everything 

                                            I do

 
Marble is softer

Than the most honest embraces

And the the truth serenades lullabies

That I choose to ignore

 

Promises that I’ve made to myself

Would have been followed

If only I spoke them out aloud

 

The same mistakes

Would have been avoided

If only I could scatter away the remnants of my past

 

Truth’s perception has been corroded

It’s been called a bitter pill to swallow

It has been said to sting the ears

 

But truth 

Is the sweetest of concoctions 

Its beautiful honesty will make you blush

Its genuine talks will move you

 

I know this

Yet I do nothing

 

I eat time

And I devour souls

Till my hunger is satiated 

And all that is left in my mouth is ash

Leave a Reply

